Far From Home

On a cold, dark morning, on a hard and dusty road
These faded tracks, they lead me back to a place I used to know
I’ve felt the cold wind on my face, I’ve seen the calm before the storm
Sunny skies won’t hurt my eyes, no, not anymore

I’m far from home, I’m where my feet have taken me
I think I’ve been mistaken about what I’ve left behind
The birds have flown, they’re watching high above me
They sing but they don’t love me, how could I have been so blind
I’m far from home

I’ve wandered on the highway looking for something beyond the bend
My shadow, it has led me here but I don’t know where I am
So I’ll take this old walking stick, set my weathered face toward home
I can still make out those tracks, they’re not yet overgrown

I’ve felt the cold wind on my face and I’ve seen the calm before the storm
Sunny skies won’t hurt my eyes, no, not anymore

I’m comin’ home, from where my feet have taken me
I know I’ve been mistaken about what I’ve left behind
Birds have flown, watching high above me
They sing but they don’t love me, how could I have been so blind
I’m comin’ home…I’m comin’ home

(Thoughts from Luke 15:11-32, Matt. 13:1-23)

Leave a Reply

